Saturday 4 May 1991


Born: March 3rd, 1938, Ghent (Belgium)
Died: November 1st, 2017, Tremelo (Belgium)
Nationality: Belgian

In due course, the short impression below will be replaced with a more extensive career overview


Since the late 1960s, Roland Verlooven (often working under his pseudonym Armath) was one of the most productive songwriters, arrangers, and producers of Dutch-language pop repertoire in Belgium. He composed Willy Sommer’s 1971 monster hit ‘Zeven anjers, zeven rozen’ and has been the singer’s producer since 1970. Other singers and acts he produced include Bart Kaëll, Zjef Vanuytsel, Mama’s Jasje, Get Ready, and Stef Bos. He wrote songs for Le Grand Jojo, Ivan Heylen, Helmut Lotti, and many more. Verlooven specialized in children’s music (e.g. Samson & Gert) and novelty records, including producing the club anthem of football team FC Bruges.


Roland Verlooven was the producer of both Ingeborg and Clouseau in the late 1980s and early 1990s, which meant he was the logical choice to pen the arrangements to their respective Eurovision participations ‘Door de wind’ (1989) and ‘Geef het op’ (1991). In 1991, Verlooven conducted the orchestra for Clouseau in Rome, which he had not done two years before, because Freddy Sunder had been the musical director of the 1989 preselection in Belgium and thus was the Flemish broadcaster’s choice for the job in Lausanne.


Country – Belgium
Song title – "Door de wind"
Rendition – Ingeborg Sergeant
Lyrics – Stef Bos
Composition – Stef Bos
Studio arrangement – Roland Verlooven
Live orchestration – Roland Verlooven
Conductor – Freddy Sunder
Score – 19th place (13 votes)

Country – Belgium
Song title – "Geef het op"
Rendition – Clouseau Paul Poelmans / Bob Savenberg / Karel Theys / Koen Wauters / Kris Wauters feat. Jan Leyers)
Lyrics – Jan Leyers / Bob Savenberg / Koen Wauters / Kris Wauters
Composition – Jan Leyers / Bob Savenberg / Koen Wauters / Kris Wauters
Studio arrangement – Jan Leyers
Live orchestration – Roland Verlooven
Conductor – Roland Verlooven
Score – 16th place (23 votes)

No comments:

Post a Comment